Chemistry: Inauguration of ChemAtom - SJEC Chemical Society inauguration

Nov 19, 2016 @ 2:00 PM

The Department of Chemistry inaugurated its association ChemAtom - SJEC Chemical Society on 19th November 2016 at 2.00 pm in Spoorthi Conference Hall. The Society was established with the objective of cultivating and promoting Chemistry and kindred branches of science among staff and students.

The Chief Guest was Dr B.K. Sarojini, Chairperson - Department of Industrial Chemistry, and Coordinator – M.Sc. in Biochemistry in Mangalore University. Dr Ramachandra Bhat, Professor in the Department of Chemistry at NITK, Surathkal and Dr Joseph Gonsalvis, Principal - SJEC was the Guests of Honour. Rev. Fr Joseph Lobo, Director-SJEC was the President of the inaugural programme. Rev. Fr Rohith D’Costa, Assistant Director - SJEC and Dr Rio D’Souza, Vice Principal – SJEC were present during the inaugural programme.

The programme started with the invocation followed by the lighting of the lamp by the dignitaries. The association logo was unveiled by the Chief Guest. Welcome Address was delivered by Dr K. Jyothi HOD, Department of Chemistry. The Chief Guest and the Principal then addressed the gathering. The Chief Guest was felicitated by Rev. Fr Joseph Lobo. Presidential address was delivered by the Director.  Ms Pramila D’Souza, Assistant Professor - Department of Chemistry proposed the vote of thanks. Mr. S. Ananth Kamath, Ist year EC and Ms. Jahnavi Ist year Civil were elected as the student Coordinators. All students from chemistry cycle attended the programme.

A talk on Nanotechnology was delivered by Dr Ramachandra Bhat to all the Ist year BE Students. The session was closed with a question answer round. The programme was compered by Ms Smitha D’Souza, Lecturer in the Department of Chemistry. Refreshments were arranged for all.

College News

  • ICSC3-2018

    Jun 11, 2018
    Thumbnail 3

    SJEC hosted its first International Conference on Smart Computing, Communication and Control (ICSC3...READ MORE