CIVIL: Engineers' Day 2017

Sep 27, 2017

The Department of Civil Engineering celebrated the Engineers’ Day on Wednesday, 27th September 2017 at 2:00 pm in the SJEC Courtyard. The president of the function was Dr Nalini Rebello, HOD of Civil Engineering - SJEC. On this occasion, activities were conducted by the organizing committee headed by Mr Prashant Kurdekar, Assistant Professor in the Civil Engineering Department that showcased the skills of students.

Details of the events organized are as follows:

1.     Technical Quiz - was conducted to check the knowledge of students in general science, current affairs and technical knowledge, where all the students of Civil Engineering Department had participated for the qualification round. Later in the second round 10 students from each year were selected for further rounds, finally one student from 2nd year, 3rd year and 4th year made it to the finals. Results of the event are:

I Place – Sanjana (7th sem), Anoop G (5th sem) and Swasthi (3rd sem)

II Place – Abdul Basheeth (7th sem), Mahima (5th sem) and Theerth Kumar (3rd sem)

2.     Sand Castling – was conducted to evaluate the designing skills and their imaginations in the field of construction. Results of the event are –

 I Place – Kaushik, M V Ganesh, Mithun Raj and Prashanth from (7th sem)

II Place – Anoop G, Adithya Rao, Dheeraj Hegde and Ankith from (5th sem) Judge for the event: Mr Sharon Mendonca, Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering Department - SJEC

3.     Wealth Out of Waste – was conducted to examine the talent of student in utilizing the available resources (i.e. waste material) for constructing civil structural models. Results of the event are:

I Place – Abhijeeth A, Harshith B and Vishika K from (7th sem)

II Place – Aashay M A, Pradeep and Lylen Nazvil D’Souza from (7th sem), Judge for the event: Mr Sharon Mendonca Assistant Professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department – SJEC.

The events were hosted by the Engineer’s Day Department Coordinator Mr Prashant Kurdekar along with the students’ coordinators Mr Abdul Basheeth and team, Ms. Deekshitha and team and Mr Fransis Suraj Mascarenhas and team of 7th semester.

College News